Porto Flavia Harbor – Main Sightseeing of the city of Iglesias
Porto Flavia Harbor has a very unusual location – it is located right in the rock immersed in the sea. Despite the fact that the harbor was closed back in 1990, it still benefits tourists from around the world.
More than 80 years ago, lead, zinc, silver and other valuable metals were actively mined in this region. The main transport artery for their transportation were ships. For the transportation of metals to the ship, ordinary boats were used, which is why the process was very long in time.
Metals were loaded into boats using ordinary baskets, so only one download could last more than 2 months.
In 1924, the Italian engineer of Cesare Tver created a project that was to significantly speed up and reduce the main process.
According to the project, the rock created two 600-meter tunnels and 9 large compartments for the storage of ore.
Special electric train delivered tons of ore to the upper tunnel, from where it was unloaded into storage compartments. From the compartments with the help of the long conveyor of the ORD, straight on the board of a moored vessel.
The project of Cesare Veverdili paid off for only 2 years and made it possible to reduce the cost of ore by 70%.
Today Porto Flavia Port is a museum where anyone who wants and see one’s own eyes of the last century.