Sint-Eustausa city: Oranjestad
Oarastad, the capital and the only city of Sint-Eustausa, is a rather pleasant settlement with a charming historical flavor. Located on the coastline, the lower city is the very place where the European settlers were settled and installed the first port, so this area still contains several dozen old structures that remain from the colonial era, as well as the best beach on the island. Here you can see the ruins of old walls, warehouses and stores that are slowly immersed in the sea (damage caused by the British Fleet Fire in 1781 and numerous hurricanes, and failed to compensate), beige-black sand of the city beach and the old Voltol – the most popular place For snorkeling.
Right in the center of the city, on the cliff over the lower city, the well-preserved Fort Oran (XVII V, the first fortifications were built by French settlers in 1629), surrounded by a triple ring of fortification structures. The picturesque panorama of the city and the adjacent water area opens with his old weapons of the walls, and the coupling courtyard with a cobblestone with his memorial plates is considered one of the most favorite places near tourists – it has been preserved in a practically unchanged form since the construction of the fort. Located WWW.statiatourism.COM Tourist Office Island (Tel: (+599) 318-24-33), where you can buy cards and brochures.
Thick stone walls of the old reformist church on Kerquveg Street, built in 1755, and now remain completely intact, but the roof collapsed under the blows of the hurricane in 1792 and since then is a colorful building "Open for heaven". In five hundred meters north, the building of the government boarding house (XVIII century, the residence of the governor and the courthouse) were arranged here, with whose recovered in 1981 the tower can be completely free to contemplate the panorama of the city. Just a few minutes walk to the north-east lies a small museum of Sint-Eustausa (open from Monday to Friday from 9.00 to 17.00, on Saturdays – from 9.00 to 12.00; Entrance – $ 2), located in one of the most beautiful buildings of the eighteenth century – a mansion of Simon Doncker (Dutch merchant XVIII century). Its collection includes the whole range of historical relics of the island, starting with the clay dishes of the Indian period and ending with the objects of the colonial era.
Among the colonial ruins of the city center are especially popular with Honen-Dalim (1739 g) – the second in the age of the synagogue in the Pool of the Caribbean. Approximately in a semi-kilometer to the east of the ruins of the synagogue, you can find a Jewish cemetery with grave stones, dating from 1742 to 1843.
Upper city – the main commercial and residential area of the capital, where most banking offices, commercial institutions and more modern residential quarters are concentrated. Not far from its outskirts, Miriam Schmidt with an extensive collection of flora samples from the entire region, and the south of the city, almost on the most southern tip of the island, are towering white cliffs and a small fort de windt (XVIII B) with its gear walls and a dozen old weapons.